8 Productivity Techniques to Smash Procrastination

Build your business with clear focus

PRODUCTIVITY TECHNIQUES

As I was building my business, I would find myself struggling to stay productive. I would fall behind because I was overwhelmed with all of the sh*t that I needed to do, but didn’t have the capacity to get it done myself.

This is a common thread nowadays with all of the distractions, “busywork”, and other crap most people are focusing on. 

And, I get it… I can fall into the trap too sometimes. I’ll be looking for good content ideas and 2 hours later, I’m looking at videos of giraffes and whales on Instagram.

Awareness is the FIRST step to staying focused… along with some time-tested and highly effective tools for  being as productive as possible while we’re building and scaling our businesses.

One of the VERY best ways to get and stay focused is with accountability and surrounding yourself with successful people and influencers.

If you haven’t been in this type of business setting, it is priceless. 

We have a big community of Linkedin influencers and successful entrepreneurs where we all thrive and keep each other accountable. 

If you’d like to be part of it, start here: https://lnkd.in/eeXW97nt 

If you’re not ready for that yet, hopefully these tools will help. Here are 8 of the most effective tools I’ve found to help me stay on target and have helped me build my business and stay stable and focused.

Pomodoro Technique: This technique involves breaking your work into intervals, typically 25 minutes of focused work followed by a 5-minute break. 

After four intervals, take a longer break. This method helps maintain focus and prevent burnout.

I do this DAILY! This is basically how I function. NONE of us is productive 24 hours/day. It’s physically impossible. 

Getting Things Done (GTD): GTD, (I call it getting sh*t done (GSD) developed by David Allen, is a productivity methodology centered around organizing tasks into lists and prioritizing them based on context and importance. 

It emphasizes capturing all tasks, clarifying next actions, and regularly reviewing your lists.

This is also the “Just Do It” model.

Eisenhower Matrix: Named after President Dwight D. Eisenhower, this method helps prioritize tasks by categorizing them into four quadrants based on urgency and importance. 

Tasks are then tackled based on their quadrant placement, focusing on important and urgent tasks first.

The 2-Minute Rule: If a task can be completed in two minutes or less, do it immediately rather than adding it to your to-do list. 

This rule helps prevent small tasks from accumulating and consuming valuable mental space.

Again… also a “Just Do It” model.

Eat That Frog: Coined by Brian Tracy, this concept suggests tackling your most challenging or unpleasant task (the "frog") first thing in the morning. 

By doing so, you start your day with a sense of accomplishment and momentum.

I also live by this model too… my first thing I do is always the hardest thing of the day, unless there is a “2-minute” task I can get done that I bump into.

Time Blocking: This technique involves scheduling specific time blocks for different tasks or activities throughout your day. 

By dedicating focused time to particular tasks, you can minimize distractions and increase productivity.

The Ivy Lee Method: At the end of each day, write down the six most important tasks you need to accomplish the following day in order of priority. 

The next day, focus solely on completing those tasks before moving on to anything else.

Bullet Journaling: This analog system combines elements of a to-do list, planner, and diary. Users create rapid logs of tasks, events, and notes in a customizable format. 

Bullet journaling encourages mindfulness, organization, and productivity tracking.

These techniques offer diverse approaches to increasing productivity, allowing us to choose methods that align with their preferences and workflow.

It is NEVER easy  building and scaling a stable profitable business, but if we use some tools, tips and tricks like these, we have a MUCH higher chance of success AND inner peace.

If you’re struggling to get focused and productive and your business just isn’t going well, there are a couple ways I can help you.

1. LinkedIn Masterclass Digital Course (HERE)

2. Join our Epic Entrepreneurs SKOOL community (HERE)

  1. LinkedIn Influencer Coaching (become an influencer fast) (HERE)